WhatsApp is currently rolling out live location sharing. That discovered Whatsappen.nl.
With live location you can share your real-time location for a certain period in individual chats and groups.
You can share your location for 15 minutes, one hour or eight hours. You can also stop sharing your live location at any time. Once stopped or expired your contact will see a greyed-out image of your last live location.
This feature is end-to-end encrypted, so nobody else can see your location except those you shared with.
You can find the feature via the attachment button (paper clip) and Location.
When you start sharing your live location, you can also add a message.
If you share your Live Location in a group, you also see this on the Group info screen. If more than one person shares their Live Location in a group, all locations will be shown on the same map.
Go WhatsApp Settings => Account => Privacy => Live Location to see who you’re currently sharing Live Location with. In this screen you can stop all current Live Location sessions.
The feature is released via a server-side update for Android and iOS and will be completed in the coming weeks. WhatsApp has announced the feature in a blogpost in the meantime.
Live Location is currently not available for WhatsApp Web/Desktop app. If people share their location, you’ll see a message “live location is shared, open WhatsApp on your phone to view”.