Delete WhatsApp messages for everyone (recall)

Made a mistake? Soon it’s possible to recall your sent WhatsApp messages in individual chats and groups. 

With the ‘recall function’ you can recall a message up to seven minutes after sending. After seven minutes, it’s no longer possible to delete your message for everyone.

Succesfully recalled messages are deleted from the recipient’s chat (s). Instead, the recipient will get the message “This message was deleted”.

Bear in mind that the recipient may read your message before it’s recalled.

How to recall a WhatsApp message?

Android

  1. Tap and hold a message (or multiple messages)
  2. Tap Delete at top of the screen and select Delete for Everyone

IPhone / Windows Phone

  1. Tap and hold a message (or multiple messages)
  2. Tap Delete and select Delete for Everyone.

The option works either in an individual chat or in a group. Note: Recalling only works if both you and the recipient(s) have the latest WhatsApp version for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone. You will not be notified if a recall was not successful.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *