The old status has returned to WhatsApp. The function is enabled in beta version 2.17.95 for Android.
The old status is called ‘Info’ and can be edited via Settings => Profile. Your info is visible in the contact list and in the user’s profile. The status you had setup in the past is still visible.
Last month WhatsApp launched a new status function, which allows you to share photos and videos for 24 hours. The old status was removed.
Many users were unhappy with this change. Reason for WhatsApp to reintroduce the old status.
Info is currently available in Android beta 2.17.95 (or after reinstalling this version). Soon the update will be rolled out for all.
Go to WhatsApp Settings =>Privacy to change the visibility for: Everyone, Contacts only or Nobody.
The new status function will also get improvements in the future, WhatsApp told Whatsappen.nl earlier. In the next six months new features will be rolled out.
As soon as we learn more about this, you will read it on this website. Stay up to date by following us on Twitter.